Life Cycle

by Old Bone Machine

Some thoughts regarding the Cycle Life.

A few weeks ago I rode Amy’s Gran Fondo. And I suffered. Did I start too fast? Is French toast a poor pre-ride breakfast option? Was my drippy nose the beginnings of a cold?

I eventually crossed the finish a wounded man. Twenty minutes or so slower than last year. Although disappointed, my memories of the ride are already mostly positive and I am keen to return again next year. To at least redeem myself.

Even when we have physical hardships, we can be very happy – Dalai Lama

IMG_1490I bought a stainless steel bidon. For me the bidon recalls the riders of the 1940s and 1950s. Black and white images of Fausto Coppi and Gino Bartali. No more dirty plastic. I want to use something that is true and good. Plastic is not so fantastic.

Coppi & BartaliThe world has shifted and a long morning shadow and a longer evening shadow accompany me now on my daily commute.

I thought the most beautiful thing in the world must be shadow – Sylvia Plath 

I’m loving the Life Cycle.

