Green by name and Green by nature

by Old Bone Machine

I dream about crossing a continent on bicycle, a self-supported journey.

Rob Greenfield lived the dream and rode 4,700 miles across America on a bamboo framed bicycle. On the way he spread the word on sustainability and living the simple life.

Rob Greenfield

I realised that when you have less, you have more. I appreciated a small sip of water, a morsel of food, the last 3% of battery life on my Macbook Air, clean clothes, fresh air, smooth roads, and clean water to swim in. Now that I can find joy in the simple parts of life, I can find sources of happiness for free everywhere around me.

I learned the power of a bicycle. It is a relatively simple machine but it can take us great distances both figuratively and literally. Life is good when you are on a bike. Good for yourself, good for the earth, and good for the people around you.

Lastly, if you live simply, you can live free. The less complicated you make your life, the more time you have to spend doing what you love and what’s good for you.

Read more about the journey from Rob Greenfield and find out why he’s riding without a saddle here.

