If you’re riding through hell, keep riding.

by Old Bone Machine

Winston Churchill once said, if you’re going through hell, keep going. Stage 2 of the Amgen Tour of California from Murrieta to Palm Springs, was ridden on roads with temperatures of 50 degrees. Riders were literally roasted.

Look closely and you’ll see which pro team Lachlan Morton rides for.

ad866f22bc2b11e2880f22000a1f9ca7_7

I’ve personally experienced riding in temperatures of 40 degrees for 6+ hours and I understand the fatigue it causes. The day after my ride in hell I felt nauseous and an overwhelming weariness. I’m glad all I needed to do the day after was to rest and recover.

By the way, did you know that Amgen, the main sponsor of the Tour of California, produce the drug Epogen?

EPOGEN® (epoetin alfa) is used to treat a lower than normal number of red blood cells (anemia) caused by chronic kidney disease in patients on dialysis to lessen the need for red blood cell transfusions (source: http://www.epogen.com/) .

Epogen though is better known by it’s colloquial moniker, EPO. Amgen and pro cycling me thinks make strange bedfellows.

Information relating to Amgen was sourced from The Roar.

Image sourced from Rohan Dennis (via Twitter).

