I went for a run

by Old Bone Machine

I cycle most days. On my daily grind I cover 50 kilometres. On the weekends when I’m able I venture further afield, 100 kilometres, sometimes more. I consider that I am relatively fit and well-conditioned. How then I wondered would this conditioning, acquired on the bicycle, translate to running?

The truth of the matter is I also recently discovered the ultra-runner Anton Krupica. His feats of running 100 kilometres and beyond across mountain trails and his philosophy to keep matters pure and simple, inspired me. His bare chest, long hair and beard, a readymade marketing image for New Balance.

krup1

So, I went for a run. A hilly 7 kilometre trail through Sherbrooke Forest in Kallista. And almost immediately the motion of running felt awkward and difficult. My hands and arms floated and flailed, untethered, they searched to grasp handlebars. The effort of the activity seemed more intense and constant than cycling. Different muscles were commanded to act. My breathing was laboured yet I couldn’t coast and rest. There was effort required for every metre travelled. After running for a short period, and although the air was cold, small patches of sweat appeared on my t-shirt. Sweat is something you only really notice when you finish a ride or when ascending on a long climb on a hot day. Typically sweat evaporates as you ride.

Yet I survived and enjoyed myself. I felt some exhilaration as I finished and only mild stiffness in my legs the following day. A forest trail of gum trees and ferns, I concluded, is the perfect setting to sweat and suffer a little.

And I’ll continue to run. Pounding on soft, dirt trails promotes healthy bone density, something not achieved with cycling. Like eating a balanced and varied diet, varying our physical activity is wise and beneficial. I think they call it cross-training.

Watch Anton run through snow-covered mountains here.

Be inspired!

