Paris-Roubaix

by Old Bone Machine

Taylor Phinney’s cycling shoes as worn in the 2013 edition of Paris-Roubaix. The shoes evoke the history and madness of the race. A race along cobbled roads that bruise and bloody the bodies of the riders.

tumblr_mkwagoXAyA1qaockio1_1280

Congratulations to a valiant Fabian Cancellara who won Paris-Roubaix for a third time. At the conclusion of the race, in which he narrowly beat Sep Vanmarcke within the Roubaix velodrome, he lay on the ground for several minutes regaining his breath.

I’ve never known a race as hard as this one today. A couple of times I thought it was over then I said to myself “Roubaix is never finished, the battle never ends”. Everything was against us, against our team. I don’t know how I managed to do it. I gave everything I could, now I’ve only got one thing on my mind – a holiday!

Image sourced from Taylor Phinney (via Twitter).

