Onwards!

by Old Bone Machine

Stage 6 of Tirreno-Adriatico featured three ascents of the Muro di Sant’Elpidio, a climb with a 27% gradient.

The stage was won by Peter Sagan.

A third of the peloton was eliminated or did not finish and Taylor Phinney (pictured below) rode through in last place.

From Peter Sagan:

It was a very hard stage. When the rain started to fall, the gradients of 30% were hard to get up. I heard Contador say that when he climbed out of the saddle, his back wheel slipped. I rode in the saddle all the time and, in the end, I got away with Vincenzo (Nibali) and stayed away to the finish line.

P1060727-562x421

From Taylor Phinney (via Twitter):

Probably the most trying day I’ve ever had on a bike. When I wanted to stop, I thought about my Dad and I didn’t quit. I made it, 37min down.

and

After all my grupetto mates threw in the towel w/130km to go I continued on alone in the rain attempting to make time cut. No results yet…

and

And now I’m on the massage table crying like a little girl. So many times I wanted to cry today, it’s all coming out now… Emotional day!!!

From Taylor’s Dad, Davis Phinney (via Twitter):

Tears here too @taylorphinney …. You do yourself, your family, your team and your sport proud. I love you! #oneinamillion

From Taylor Phinney (via Twitter):

Officially out of time limit. Rules r rules and I wouldn’t want them bent just 4 me. I already did the math so it isn’t a surprise. Onwards!

Watch Davis Phinney talk about his battle with Parkinson’s Disease here.

