New Skin

by Old Bone Machine

Michael Rasmussen sheds his skin and confesses to using performance-enhancing drugs from 1998 to 2010.

rasmussen

I used EPO, cortisone, insulin, human growth hormone and blood transfusions. I have told the anti-doping authorities all of this. From today my cycling career is over, I want to cooperate with Danish institutions. I know I cheated and lied and cheated other riders and I will accept my punishment.

When I get up and leave this room, it’s as a very relieved man. I no longer have a heavy burden to carry, like I have done for the last several years. I am happy that I don’t have to sit and lie to you anymore when you ask about my past.

Like Lance Armstrong, Rasmussen never tested positive.

On 25 July 2007, Rasmussen won stage 16 of the 2007 Tour de France. He was wearing yellow and led the race by 3:10. That same day he was fired from the Rabobank team and removed from the race. Davide Cassani, an Italian cycling commentator and former pro-rider, had reported seeing Rasmussen training in the Italian Dolomites on 13 June 2007. Riding in the rain. The schedule Rasmussen had submitted to the UCI, indicated that he should have been in Mexico. He subsequently claimed that he had lied because he had been cheating on his wife. He had missed three drug tests. For his deception he received a two year ban.

The torment continues to unravel.

Chapeau Michael.

