Silver

by Old Bone Machine

Rachel Neylan recently won silver at the 2012 World Championships. The excitement of the women’s road race (one without race radios) and Neylan’s success in the race was a surprise highlight of the season.

I came across the following quote in Rachel’s website.

the harder you work the luckier you get

Rachel a latecomer to cycling showed that persistence and hard work does make you lucky.

“I only started pedalling a bike five years ago and I only really started getting competitive three years ago,” she said.

“I had an amazing opportunity with the Amy Gillett Foundation, I received a scholarship to race with the national team in 2010 and that was what really kickstarted things.

“At no stage was I told I was going to be a great cyclist or that I was talented but that is the best recipe as it just keeps you trying for more and wanting to prove to people that you can do it.”

Rachel’s silver comes after breaking her pelvis twice last year.

“They always say your darkest hour is just before the dawn and I have worked really hard the last couple of years and I have overcome a lot more than that (team closing down)”

“That is a big philosophy in my life, you just have to make it happen.

“No one is going to give it to you on a silver platter.”

The entire article can be read here.

